Printables · Recipe · Sugar Free

Javaroons

javaroonspin.jpg

I live a sugar-free lifestyle because of an unusual dental issue. The truth is that if you can push through the barrier, it feels very good to be sugar-free.  Even though I’m sugar-free, I have a major sweet tooth.  Had do I satisfy it?

I’ve come up with dozens of recipes to fill that sweet tooth niche.  Nearly all my recipes can be substituted with sugar – I know because the rest of my family wants sugar so I make many of them both ways.  Since I use mostly xylitol – it’s a one for one ratio. Therefore if you want this cookie but you don’t want sugar-free – just replace the 3 tablespoons xyltitol with sugar.  Other options are stevia, honey, dates, or maple syrup.

I’ll list the recipe and instructions here but if you go to the bottom there is a pdf that is a printable 3″ x 5″ card.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup coconut flakes
  • ½ cup almond flour
  • 1 T. cocoa 1 T. instant espresso
  • 3 T Xylitol or sweetener
  • 1 T. coconut oil
  • ½ vanilla extract
  • 1/8 teaspoon almond extract
  • 2 egg whites
  • Pam
  • Sugar-free chocolate for melting if you want to them dipped

Instructions

Preheat oven to 325 degrees (175 C.) Spray a pan or mini cupcake tin with Pam. In bowl combine coconut flakes, almond flour, cocoa, dry instant espresso and your sweetener. Stir very well so nobody gets a lump of coffee. Set aside.

In a small dish, microwave the coconut oil till it melts – about 30 seconds.

In another bowl, combine two egg whites, vanilla and almond extract, and the melted coconut oil. Use an electric mixer on medium high to whip the mix until it frothes and peaks – about 2 minutes.

Fold the egg white mix into the coconut mix bit by bit. Shape the mix into teaspoon sized balls and place on the pan or mini cupcake tin.

Bake in preheated oven for 17- 25 minutes, until golden and chewy on the bottom. Remove after they cool. If you want, dip them in melted sugar free chocolate. I often use this chocolate recipe for dipping.

These are absolutely marvelous slightly frozen.

Free Printable 3 x5 inch – Recipe Card

One last tip – don’t eat these right before bed.  They’re best served when you or your guest need a little jolt.

Bon appetit!

Please note- no sharing xylitol sweetened Javaroons with dogs.  Xylitol is downright deadly to dogs. For the love of dogs, please don’t do it.  Even a small amount can damage their liver to the point of death.

2 thoughts on “Javaroons

  1. Thank you Cynthia for the invite to your blog. Your recipes sound wonderful. I just want to give a heads up to any dog owners out there. My vet has a huge sign on his counter that Xylitol is poisonous to dogs. They should never, ever, eat it. No sharing allowed. I just learned this and wanted to pass it on. I was not aware of it. Xylitol is found in a lot of peanut butter. I look forward to your sugar-free treats because I do not eat sugar either. Sandy

    Like

    1. Yes, Xylitol is very, very bad for dogs. I need to add a footnote to that article now. You are so right, Sandy. I’d be devastated if a dog got ill from this. I believe it causes a bad reaction with the dog’s blood sugar. Xylitol is in lots of sugar-free gum because it’s good for human teeth. But for dogs – it is so dangerous that only a few pieces of gum can be fatal. So no sharing gum or Javaroons with dogs, please. I think the cocoa isn’t good for dogs either but that might only be chocolate. …Now …..I’ve found something better than Javaroons: heat a spoonful of virgin coconut oil, add a heap of coconut flakes – about a 1/2 cup, spoonful of xylitol or sweetener of choice, and a few shakes of chai spice. I used Masala Chia. Oh my gosh -it’s nearly decadent. Be warned – it’s rich 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

