DIY · Nut Stash · Party Favors · Printables · Recipe

Christmas Blend Nut Stash – Orange Spiced Nuts

christmas-nut-stash-previewI’m so happy to say that after a few weeks of work that my first Nut Stash is done. Nut Stash was a labor of love but I wanted to see it progress because it was on the level of vision. I had a vision for spreading the love of nuts.  I had a vision for spreading this gosh darn cute squirrel image that I’m selling on my Etsy as a label.

Nuts are so healthy. They help the heart and the brain. They are so clearly one of the foods that humanity would have eaten when we were still living in the wild. They are still a great score on any hunting & gathering expedition.

When I set out to do Nut Stash I was positive that I wanted to do a Christmas version recipe. Roasted nuts are such a delightful cozy smell that warms winter. Everyone in my extended family likes my spiced nuts and swears they can’t stop eating them. I found them good but rather ordinary. I wanted something different. Something that encapsulated that feel of Christmas morning – sitting by daddy, coffee cake warming in the oven, oranges in the stockings, the warmth of gifts under the tree. So I tinkered with my recipe to really ring that bell.

cinnamon-314668_960_720

Hence the hidden zinger in this spiced nut recipe is Orange Extract.

Let’s get to the nuts & bolts…aka the recipe!  I’m telling you these nuts are damn good. If you prefer to just follow the recipe card, I’m giving it away for free right here as a nice nifty printable cards.  One recipe serves 6 and the other recipe is the same but serves 1.  I think recipes that serve 1 are urgently underserved.  Sometimes you want to cook 1 cookie, 1 gift, 1 meal.  I’m often whittling my recipes down to 1.  So I was sure to add that one this time for you too.

Without further ado let’s get started.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 ½ teaspoons butter or oil (I use butter)
  • 3 cups mix of pecans & walnuts (or whatever nuts you prefer)
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar (I don’t use sugar and sub. xylitol here which works a-okay for sugarfree)
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • ¾ teaspoon salt
  • 1 ½ teaspoons cinnamon
  • ¾ teaspoon ground cloves
  • ¾ teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • ¾ teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 ½ teaspoons vanilla extract
  • ¾ teaspoon orange extract
  • ¾ teaspoon of water 1 egg white

RECIPE

Preheat oven to 350 degrees (175 C.) Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil.

On stovetop on medium heat, add butter to frying pan. Once the butter is hot, add nuts & brown sugar. Stir often till caramelized & lightly roasted .Remove from heat.

Allow to cool for a few minutes in a large bowl. In a small bowl, mix together white sugar, salt and all spices. In another small bowl add egg white, water, vanilla and orange extract. Beat till frothy. Slowly cover the nuts with egg white mix – only put enough to moisten the nuts. Sprinkle half the sugar spice mix onto the nuts. Stir lightly.

Spread the nuts on the baking sheet. Sprinkle the rest of sugar spice evenly onto the nuts. Bake in preheated oven for 17- 25 minutes, stirring at least once. Remove early if needed. Allow to cool. I like to add a small layer of honey to the bottom of my mason jar with a small amount of minced orange peel for a nice Christmas feel.

20151211_200041

This is how they turn out – no filter, no photoshop – just mouthwatering good.

christmas-blend-closeup-preview

If you are interested in getting the the mason jar label, gift tag, and further instructions, it’s available in my Etsy.

It makes a perfect gift for parties, for the kids to make for daddy or someone special, for the office.  It’s really a simple, great gift.  It can easily be done in the last minute because there is nothing to be mailed.  The files on Etsy are instant downloads that you can print at home or in the print shop.  I will be happy to work with you.

christmas-blend-black-preview

Leave a Reply

